MTA Board Members


The Board


pres circle dec 2015.jpeg

Therese Lahart



Thomas Wegesin

Thomas has been teaching at DeLaSalle Institute since 2003.  He received a Bachelors degree in both mathematics and history from Lewis University and earned his Masters of Mathematical Education from DePaul University in 2009.  Thomas has been an MTA board member since 2012 and President of the MTA since 2015.


Marynell Begeske

Joseph Large


Jeff Nicholson



Roger Finnell

Roger has been the Mathematics Department chair at Fenwick High School since 1974.  The longest ranking member of the MTA board, he has served since 1968.  Roger also acts as the AA Division Statistician for the Illinois State Math Contest.  He has held this post since 1985.


Tim Ebrom

Tim is a native of the northwest side of Chicago. He attended the University of Illinois at Chicago, where he received his B.S. in Teaching of Mathematics.  He has been a member of the mathematics department at Saint Patrick High School since 2011, and received his M.S. in Pure Mathematics from DePaul University in 2016.

Karen Groszek

AJR nov 2015.jpg

Andrew Reuland

Andrew started teaching in 1999 after completing his B.S. in Mathematics at University of Notre Dame.  Andrew holds masters degrees in Secondary Education and Instructional Leadership and defended his dissertation in School Administration in 2012.  Andrew has worked at St. Rita High School, Chicago Academy for the Arts, Fenwick High School, and CICS Northtown Academy. He currently serves as the Math department chair at Mother McAuley Liberal Arts High School.